The election of Regional Office of the Senior Citizens Affairs (OSCA) Officers and Socialization Night marks the 3rd Regional OSCA and Federation of Senior Citizens Association of the Philippines (FSCAP) Presidents in Region 1 in Baguio City, recently shall pave the way to organize OSCA Heads Organization.

This is through the support of the newly elected OSCA Officers who are as follows:  President-Judge Joven F. Costales from Naguilian, La Union; Executive Vice President – Mr. Jose B. Zapata from Sinait, Ilocos Sur; Vice President – Mrs.Andrea N. Domingo from Laoag City, Ilocos Norte; Vice President-Mr. Rogelio D. Dacanay from Rosario, La Union; Secretary-Mrs.Teresita R. Rivera from Sto. Tomas, La Union; Treasurer- Natividad A. Pelaez from San Fernando City, La Union; Business Managers- Engr. Romelias C Pascual from Vintar, Ilocos Norte and Mr. Reynaldo S. Peralta from Narvacan, Ilocos Sur; Public Relations Officers- Mr. Ascencion V. Bonoan from Bacarra, Ilocos Norte and Mrs. Ma. Luisa C. Fontanilla from Agoo, La Union; and Auditor- Mr. Pedro R. Estoque from Tubao, La Union.

Forming such organization will lead to strengthened partnership and collaboration among the members since they came from other provinces in the region for the development of their group.

Aside from the election of OSCA Officers, the participants dazzled and grooved in their youngster attire during their solidarity night. They showed how senior citizens actively participate in various activities like singing and dancing competition. Winners in the different talent competition are the following: Cesar Mina from Villasis, Pangasinan, Charlie Mendoza from Tayug, Pangasinan, and Ricarte Cristobal from Binmaley, Pangasinan were the winners of the Divang Lolo, respectively.

For Divang Lola, Andrea Domingo from Laoag City, Ilocos Norte grabbed the first prize, while the second and third were being to Milagros Natividad from Bani, Pangasinan and Lina Martinez from San Fernando City, La Union. Ricarte Cristobal from Binmaley, Pangasinan and Gloria Rosario from Calasiao, Pangasinan was announced to be the Lolo and Lola of the Night.

The King and Queen of the dance floor were Milagros Natividad from Bani, Pangasinan and Tito Martinez from San Carlos City, Pangasinan being the Dancing Grandpa and Grandma. For being physically active, Elpidio Calixtro from Bani, Pangasinan and Purita Peralta from San Fernando City, La Union were awarded as Aktibong Lolo and Lola. Despite the old age, Natividad Pelaez from San Fernando City, La Union and Ascencion Bonoan from Bacarra, Ilocos Norte still proved themselves to be Most Demure and Early Bird, respectively. Also for being a valued partner, Anita Fernandez from Urdaneta City, Pangasinan and Kathleen Olivas from Burgos, La Union were recognized as Most Supportive CSWDO and MSWDO, respectively.

Certificates of Accreditation for Senior Citizens Centers were awarded to the municipalities of Balungao and Calasiao, and the City of Dagupan.

During the convention, Atty. Germaine Trittle P. Leonin, the resource speaker provided updates and the status of implementation of Republic Act 9994 or the “Senior Citizens Act of 2010”.  Dr. Mary Grace de Vera also had a discussion on healthy aging. She stated that millions of older adults struggle every day with health challenges such as chronic disease, falls, and mental health issues. She shared steps for a healthy lifestyle based on the Pilipinas Go4Health Movement: 1) Go Sigla, 2) Go Sustansya, 3) Go Smoke-Free and 4) Go Slow sa Tagay. Because of this, Dr. De Vera convinced and encouraged the senior citizens not to regret growing older.

“White hair is a sign of wisdom. Not only wisdom should be shared to fellow senior citizens but also compassion. We have the passion to help our marginalized senior citizens”, Assistant Regional Director for Administration Nora D. Dela Paz said.

The participants during the two day convention were composed of OSCA heads, FSCAP Presidents, Provincial/City/Municipal Social Welfare and Development Officers (P/C/MSWDO’s) and Senior Citizens Focal Persons of Region I. There were 262 participants who attended the said activity. (by: Jaesem Ryan A. Gaces, Administrative Assistant V, Listahanan/NHTS-PR)